Diocese of Killaloe & Abbey Cluster

We are a community of communities, united in Christ –

Diocese is a community of communities whose chief pastor is its Bishop. The Diocese itself is also a community within the many communities that make up the universal Catholic church. ‘Though we are many, we are one Body’.

The role of a Bishop is to unite us as one and to preach the Gospel. This role is most evident when a Bishop travels around the diocese to visit parishes, when he lead us in pilgrimage,  when he confirms our young people, and when he send us a pastoral reflection on a theme he wishes us all to consider.

The Diocese of Killaloe was established in the 7th Century and comprises parts of the counties of Clare, Tipperary, Offaly, Limerick and Laois. In geographical terms it is one of the larger dioceses in Ireland taking in approximately 4,500 Km2 stretching from the Atlantic seaboard in West Clare to the foothills of the Slieve Bloom Mountains in Co. Laois. The Catholic population of the Diocese is estimated at about 120,000 persons. Our patron saint is St Flannan.

The Abbey Cluster

The Abbey cluster is made up of the parishes of Ennis, Quin, Doora-Barefield and Clarecastle-Ballyea.  The cluster meets regularly to reflect and plan on behalf of us all. The cluster team mission statement reads:

“The Abbey cluster is a caring Christian leadership group, which fosters belonging and participation, helps to promote ongoing improved pastoral structures, with the co-responsibility of all members of the people of God in its four parishes, encourages creativity and talent, while promoting spiritual development”