Diocese of Killaloe & Abbey Cluster


  We are a community of communities,

united in Christ

A Diocese is a community of communities whose chief pastor is its Bishop. The Diocese itself is also a community within the many communities that make up the universal Catholic church. ‘Though we are many, we are one Body’.

The role of a Bishop is to unite us as one and to preach the Gospel. This role is most evident when a Bishop travels around the diocese to visit parishes, when he lead us in pilgrimage,  when he confirms our young people, and when he send us a pastoral reflection on a theme he wishes us all to consider.



The Diocese of Killaloe was established in the 7th Century and comprises parts of the counties of Clare, Tipperary, Offaly, Limerick and Laois. In geographical terms it is one of the larger dioceses in Ireland taking in approximately 4,500 Km2 stretching from the Atlantic seaboard in West Clare to the foothills of the Slieve Bloom Mountains in Co. Laois. The Catholic population of the Diocese is estimated at about 120,000 persons. Our patron saint is St Flannan.

 Bishop Kieran O’Reilly


Bishop Kieran O’Reilly was born in Cork on 8th August 1952 to Seán and Theresa O’Reilly. Educated at Presentation Brothers and Scoil Chríost Rí, he entered the Society of African Missions in Wilton, Cork in 1970.  Ordained for the Society on the 17th June 1978 he served in Liberia for two years before studying for a licentiate in Sacred Scripture at the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome.

From 1984 to 1989 Bishop Kieran was lecturing in Scripture at the major seminary in Ibadan, Nigeria. From 1990 until his appointment as Bishop of Killaloe he served on the Irish and International Councils of the Society of African Missions. At the time of his appointment he was serving his second term as Superior General of the Society. He was ordained as Bishop of Killaloe on the 29th August 2010 in succession to Bishop Willie Walsh who had retired as bishop of the diocese on completing his 75th year.

You can read more about our diocese on our diocesan website www.killaloediocese.ie/diocese/our-diocese.html 

The Abbey Cluster


The Abbey cluster is made up of the parishes of Ennis, Quin, Doora-Barefield and Clarecastle-Ballyea.  The cluster meets regularly to reflect and plan on behalf of us all. The cluster team mission statement reads:

“The Abbey cluster is a caring Christian leadership group, which fosters belonging and participation, helps to promote ongoing improved pastoral structures, with the co-responsibility of all members of the people of God in its four parishes, encourages creativity and talent, while promoting spiritual development”


Our Parish